The Rocca di San Sudario represents the last offshoot of the dividing chain of the Vermenagna and Gesso valleys. Of a modest-sized height, it must have played a strategic role in the development of the municipality, so much so as to be represented in the heraldic emblem in which, on the summit, a Tower is represented, probably referring to the castle settlement quoted by some sources and of which today there are only a few illegible ruins.
The castle of Roccavione is documented several times in reference to war events and judicial acts that have concerned the municipal territory. Despite the lack of certain information, it is likely that the castle was located on the top of the Rocca di San Sudario, built to guarantee a strategic observation point over the entrance to the Vermenagna and Gesso valleys. The structure gradually lost its importance until the 16th century when it was finally demolished by order of the Dukes of Savoy. About a century later, in 1561, a small chapel dedicated to the Holy Shroud was erected on the ruins of the castle. Documented several times between the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, the chapel was demolished in 1786 because it was in ruins.
Today it is impossible to reconstruct the extension of the castle and the chapel, the ruins on the top of the cliff are too fragmentary to let the ancient organization of the site be reconstructed. What is certain is that the environment of the Rocca is fascinating for its jutted position over the town.